Embracing Myself in a Cloud of Confidence

What we see is not what we want to hear. What we hear is not what we want to see. Our reflections are just a physical form of what we are truly made of.

We are constantly defined by what we are told by other people. They say that we are tall, short, chubby, skinny, et cetera. But those aren’t the worst of them all. Some people call others horrible names. For what gain? For what pleasure?

People are not defined (and never should be) by the amount of pleasing features they have. Who are others to judge if we truly fit to the norms of beauty? Just drop those magazines and stop looking at photoshopped billboards! We are our own body and we should own up to it. The next time someone is defining you in a way that you should not be, then you should stand up for yourself. You are your own power.

I mainly wrote this post because I was also picked on because of my weight. And I wasn’t even overweight. It happened a while ago and I am well over immune to it. It happened when I was in kindergarten and in elementary school. I was too little to know that I had my own shield and sword to protect me from those kind of people. I was too little to comprehend that instead of crying over being called “fat”, I should have told them to stop picking on me or anyone else for that matter. I want people to know that humans of all ages and gender, no matter what shape and size they are, get called names. No, it is not right, but it is a storm that we cannot stop.

I don’t want to be defined by the norms of society because I am my own person. No, just because I have a little bit more volume on my chest and my butt does not mean I should not wear horizontal stripes. I love horizontal stripes! I will wear what I want when I want because I know my body the best. And the same goes with my eating habits. I’m still young! I need the simple pleasures of life that are filled with sugar and carbohydrates.

Instead of worrying about what other people think, I’m going to fuel my own power with the belief that I am beautiful. Because at the end of the day, the people who are out to get you only want to stir up your pot and see you explode. I’m not going to give them the pleasure. Plus, I realized that it’s not really worth my time to listen to all the negativity.

Now I am at peace, embracing myself in a cloud of confidence. As many negative people there are, there are always the positive counterparts, including yourself. So the next time you see yourself in the mirror, compliment yourself. You deserve it.

Leave a Reply

