Journal Entry 7: Pop Culture is Dead

I write these journals in the first 10 minutes of my Writing I class at NYU. I thought the readings/articles were very intriguing and the journal prompts were also really interesting, so I thought why not post my thoughts on the blog while I’m at it? These are written in 10 minutes so they might sound very first-draft-esque, my apologies.

Based on: http://www.salon.com/2014/02/05/too_poor_for_pop_culture/

Prompt: “Pop culture no longer craves archangels and new dawns. Pop culture traffics in vampires and dead of night.” -James Wolcott


 

Popular culture, I believe, is derived from what once was. Look at Ariana Grande, for example, she is always doused in 60’s glam, but the question is, how much does she actually know about the 60’s? I think the problem with popular culture is that there is no meaning to it. No one asks why they are doing something. Why are you taking selfies? Why are you listening to Taylor Swift’s new song? Why?

Every day brings in new news about some celebrity doing something stupid or doing something great. But what do we care? I think one of the reasons why popular culture is dead is because we give what it craves the most: attention. Pop culture is a spoiled child whose omnipresence is embraced by everyone and it grows every single day because it feeds on our attention. The beauty of not knowing something is forgotten; everyone seems to feel obligated to know the latest news or gossip. The word “mainstream” is too frequently used and portrayed by the mass media. Maybe this is partially why I am drawn to Indie music; it is full of something undiscovered, showing the beauty of the unknown.

I think it is our instinct to attach ourselves to what is well known because it is what is the most familiar. We see the faces of pop culture everywhere: in the news, media, tabloid magazines, fashion magazines, blogs, social networks, and more. But what is the most commonly shown to us is latched on our minds because of the repetition of its existence. Everything popular becomes redundant, not as much abundant. If it was abundant, what is popular will be available to everyone, to all social classes; but this is a whole other argument. I feel like we, as a generation that derives most of its innovations from the past, should realize that pop culture is dying.

Leave a Reply

