Gilmore Girls: My Letter to Internship Applications

[WARNING: Gilmore Girls spoilers ahead!]

In the second half of Season 7 of Gilmore Girls, Rory begins preparing for her graduation from Yale. Simply put, she is trying to cope with the transition from College Student to Career Person. It’s a terrifying concept for me, as it will be—or currently is—for students world-wide. After all, the job market is narrowing down opportunities for students who try to out-compete one another so that someday, their own definitions of success can be shared with the world.

Of course, shows like Gilmore Girls have happy endings that allow Rory to have the job of her dreams, the internship of her dreams, and the future that she had always craved ever since she was little. I mean, she gets to meet Christiane Amanpour (!!) in the series finale. Anyone who aspires to become a journalist knows that Amanpour is a goddess warrior of another dimension.

rory gilmore gif

But hold on. Does Rory get the smooth transition out of college that people always thought she would receive?
There seem to be bumps along the way to her job offer at the end of the season. After all, what is success without failure?

First, Rory gets rejected from a dream publication: The New York Times. She had total confidence she would land a position in the NYT fellowship. As Paris received several law and medical school offers, Rory had to open a letter of rejection. There’s no “nicer” way to put a rejection because that’s just what happened. It doesn’t mean you’re not wanted, or does it mean your credentials are not good enough. I know first-hand that self-deprecation is the easiest and most convenient way of explaining why you got rejected. But most often, . The fact that we all gave the effort to apply already puts us a step forward in being recognized for the work we do.

When we are children, we get rejections that are quite benign. Do you remember when your parents wouldn’t buy you that famous toy? Or when dessert was waived and you had to go to sleep without ice cream. Remember when your first crush pushed you away? Or if you’re like me, you probably couldn’t even approach your crush and that, ironically, crushed yourself. It was the little things that left us in frustrated solitude. A decade later, these small rejections don’t seem to matter so much because today, we’ve made plans to go places.

I want to live my life so that I’ll be able to read an in-depth biography about myself in later years and not puke.

Then we became teenagers and puberty raged our hormones. High school allowed us to experience the more advanced ways of getting rejected. That SAT score wasn’t too promising to you; if not to you, then to your parents. “I regret to inform you” was the quickest way to determine why you shouldn’t continue reading the letter from that university. From sports team tryouts to college applications, the four years we spent in high school mounted into stressful all-nighters and joyous coffee intakes.

Then aspirations galore, you got the opportunity to attend college. Or maybe you wanted to take a gap year or two. For me, I had the greatest opportunity to accept an offer from New York University. It was either NYU or Parsons, but I had to go with my guts; my dreams of becoming a fashion designer had been fading.

After a year and a half at NYU, I now see what Paris Geller is talking about. She is a passionate person who would create her own word for “passionate”, light it on fire, find a way to keep that fire burning underwater, and fly into space to discover a new planet while that fire continues to burn underwater. All these things sound impossible, I know. But that is Paris Geller for you. Whether she overwhelms you or annoys you, she has the factor to inspire you to work hard for something you want. If you don’t believe me, take a look at this Buzzfeed article.

Gilmore Girls gif paris

It would be a lie if I wrote that applying to internships is easy. It’s never easy. With competition rising exponentially faster than sea levels (climate change is real), one rejection can make you feel like you just got buried underneath a mountain. Your only tool of escape and survival are your hands. But congratulations to us, we made it to another internship opening.

Then your mind plays tricks on you: What’s the pay like. Or is in unpaid. Do I have to relocate for the summer. What’s the commute like. What and how would this opportunity contribute to my future as a journalist. Why do I have to think about all of these when I should be applying. It’s always good to at least try, right? But what if I get rejected and lose motivation. Or what if I get the position but another great internship opens up. WHY AM I THINKING SO MUCH???

rory taco gif

Here’s the thing: if you, the person reading this post (thank you so much), are indeed in search of an internship opening or have applied to various internships, congratulations! I personally believe that it’s an amazing feat. You’ve overcome studying, trying to keep up with personal issues, and more. You kept in touch with your parents, and I know I applied to New York Times knowing the odds against me, but Hunger Games has taught me to be valiant in the times of need. So I volunteered myself as tribute but the Times said no (for now. I won’t give up!).

The more and more I write for this post, the more I realize that I’m writing a letter to myself. I’ve been feeling a little down lately, #honestytime. Especially watching Gilmore Girls is making me want to apply to the big publications so I can start my journalism career for good. But you know what? I’m still a sophomore. And I should put academics first, internships second. During dinner tonight, my mom said something along the lines of: If you work hard, everything else will follow.

Hearing that, I was feeling some muscles in my arms wanting to do this:

success gif

I know it can be hard, seeing Rory Gilmore or other journalism majors doing things you want to do. I’ve planned a career for yourself as a journalist. I ultimately want to become a White House correspondent. Maybe that will change the instant Spring semester starts in a few weeks. Life is a gamble, and the choices I make will only solidify who I will become. For now, I have a dream of landing internships at renowned publications. I won’t say, “I wish…”. I’ll say “I have, and I did.” No matter the outcome, I’ll keep reminding myself that I have, and I did. I will work for it with promise and conviction.

I’m going to be finishing the finale of Gilmore Girls tonight, right after I publish this post. Wish me luck because now I’m really dreading the thought of having to search for another great series. I almost read through this Bustle article not knowing it outlined everything that happens in the finale. (Truth: I applied for a Spring 2016 internship at Bustle, when I didn’t realize I had a typo in my resume. Of course, I didn’t get any replies from there, but I know it’s on me. Did that stop me from applying to other internships? Not at all. I fixed my mistakes on the resume and proceeded. It was a great learning experience, and now I’ll be moving forward.)

But who else can’t wait for the new Netflix Gilmore Girls series?? I’m so excited!! I really did like Lory (Rogan) together!

hug gif

P.S. I want to take a moment to acknowledge those who do not have the same opportunity to higher education due to different social, economical, and/or cultural situations. For those of us who are granted access to college, we should be more grateful of this fact. I do think that everyone should have the opportunity to education, no matter the socioeconomic standing. Education is very—if not, the most—important in correcting wrongs and improving rights. I know that I can only speak for myself and from my own experience, which is why this post discusses high school and college experience.

 

Leave a Reply

